New Newsworks Post: Throwing Money at the "Bacon" Districts Won't Solve Their Problems

It starts here:
The Education Law Center is in a rut. The ELC is an organization that describes itself as “the leading voice for New Jersey’s public school children,” particularly poor ones.  
On Tuesday a New Jersey judge denied ELC's request for a summary motion in its long-running legal fight for additional funding to 16 rural South Jersey school districts it argues were short-changed.  
The legal arguments are similar to the ones put forth in the Abbott districts, which gave additional aid to many poor urban school districts. Think of it as Abbott redux, country-style. The 16 Bacon districts are: Buena Regional, Clayton, Commercial, Egg Harbor, Fairfield, Hammonton Township, Lakehurst, Lakewood, Lawrence (Cumberland County), Little Egg Harbor, Maurice River, Ocean Township, Quinton, Upper Deerfield, Wallington and Woodbine.
Read the rest here.

Labels: , , , ,