26 States Apply for Second Round of NCLB Waivers

New Jersey got there in the first round, along with 10 other states. Now PoliticsK-12 is reporting that another 26 states have applied to the U.S. DOE for waivers from the unrealistic benchmarks of the No Child Left Behind federal legislation. Those states are Arkansas, Arizona, Connecticut, Delaware, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Kansas, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nevada, New York, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, and Wisconsin, along with D.C.